This project is read-only.

Wrapping .NET Types

Dec 18, 2013 at 11:44 AM
Hi,
I am just starting to experiment with V8.NET (I am also new to V8 in general) with the aim of eventually integrating it in to an existing product as a scripting and automation engine.

I am attempting to register a .NET type with the engine to allow it to be created from the script, I have tried to use the example you have provided in a previous discussion (https://v8dotnet.codeplex.com/discussions/456763 - the second post, your first "method") but I am unable to get it to work.

Since I am using existing types I would prefer not to modify their inheritance hierarchy by adding V8NativeObject or V8ManagedObject if at all possible.

My code looks like:
private void InitEngine()
{
    _engine = new V8Engine();
    var printFunc = _engine.CreateFunctionTemplate().GetFunctionObject(Print);
    _engine.GlobalObject.SetProperty("print", printFunc, V8PropertyAttributes.Locked);

_engine.RegisterType(typeof(DataFrame), null, true, ScriptMemberSecurity.Permanent);
    _engine.GlobalObject.SetProperty(typeof(DataFrame), V8PropertyAttributes.Locked);
}

I then use:
string typeTest = "var dataFrame = new DataFrame();return dataFrame;";
V8.Net.Handle script = _engine.Execute(typeTest);
script.IsEmpty)
{
    Print(string.Format("Result: {0}", script.AsString));
}
to test the function.
The exception that occurs states that:
Error: Failed to invoke constructor: => Message: Unable to cast object of type 'Js.Net.DataFrame' to type 'V8.Net.IV8NativeObject'.

=> Stack Trace: at V8.Net.ObjectBinder.Initialize(Boolean isConstructCall, InternalHandle[] args) in c:\Data\Visual Studio\Projects\V8.NET\Source\V8.Net\V8Engine_Binding.cs:line 1747
at V8.Net.TypeBinder.<>c__DisplayClass4e.<_BindTypeMembers>b__4d(V8Engine engine, Boolean isConstructCall, InternalHandle _this, InternalHandle[] args) in c:\Data\Visual Studio\Projects\V8.NET\Source\V8.Net\V8Engine_Binding.cs:line 1521
Line: 1 Column: 16